The Committee on Migration Research (KBnM PAN) is a committee at the Department I (Social Sciences and Humanities) of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN). It focuses on the studying of the migration processes from interdisciplinary perspective, with particular emphasis on human flows from, to, and in Poland - emigration, immigration and internal migration.

The Committee's chairman is Professor Janusz Mucha (; Ten adres pocztowy jest chroniony przed spamowaniem. Aby go zobaczyć, konieczne jest włączenie w przeglądarce obsługi JavaScript.)

Members of Executive Committee:

Prof. Janusz Mucha - University of Białystok (Chairman)

Prof. Agata Górny - University of Warsaw (Deputy Chairwoman)

Prof. Romuald Jończy - Wroclaw University of Economics and Business (Deputy Chairman)

Prof. Joanna Wojdon - University of Wrocław (Deputy Chairwoman)

Prof. Anna Horolets - University of Warsaw

Prof. Dariusz Niedźwiedzki – Jagiellonian University

Prof. Jacek Schmidt - Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań

Prof. Krystyna Slany - Jagiellonian University

Prof. Brygida Solga - Opole University of Technology

Dr hab. Magdalena Lesińska - University of Warsaw (Secretary of the Committee) 


The Committee consists of 36 members appointed for the term 2019-2022 representing various disciplines and academic units.

The scope of activities of the Committee intends (according to Annex No. 1 to the Resolution of the Presidium of the Polish Academy of Sciences, no. 14/2019):
1) to promote research on the transformation of immigrant communities, attitudes towards immigrants and public discourse on migration in Poland,
2) to promote research on determinants and social consequences of internal migration in Poland,
3) to initiate a review of archive resources both in Poland and abroad regarding Polish migrants and Polish diaspora and the cooperation with Polish diaspora,
4) to continue the activities aiming at the integration of the community of Polish researchers on migration and ethnic relations.

More information is available at and